National Day of Prayer

Thursday, May 7, 2020

11:00 am

This is some text inside of a div block.
This is some text inside of a div block.
This is some text inside of a div block.
,
This is some text inside of a div block.

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Suspendisse varius enim in eros elementum tristique. Duis cursus, mi quis viverra ornare, eros dolor interdum nulla, ut commodo diam libero vitae erat. Aenean faucibus nibh et justo cursus id rutrum lorem imperdiet. Nunc ut sem vitae risus tristique posuere.

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Suspendisse varius enim in eros elementum tristique. Duis cursus, mi quis viverra ornare, eros dolor interdum nulla, ut commodo diam libero vitae erat. Aenean faucibus nibh et justo cursus id rutrum lorem imperdiet. Nunc ut sem vitae risus tristique posuere.

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Suspendisse varius enim in eros elementum tristique. Duis cursus, mi quis viverra ornare, eros dolor interdum nulla, ut commodo diam libero vitae erat. Aenean faucibus nibh et justo cursus id rutrum lorem imperdiet. Nunc ut sem vitae risus tristique posuere.

The National Day of Prayer exists to mobilize unified public prayer for America.

Join Us Thursday, May 7th, 2020

Tampa Bay Area Festivities

(Contingent on the ongoing status of the current coronavirus pandemic. Check back for updates.)

Tampa Bay National Day of Prayer Brunch

5/7/2020 | 11:00 AM - 1:00 PM

Armature Works

Tampa, FL

The Tampa Bay National Day of Prayer Council and Pray Tampa Bay will host the 27th Tampa Bay National Day of Prayer Brunch at Armature Works on Tampa on Thursday, May 7, 2020, with Keynote Speaker Os Guinness

1910 N Ola Avenue
Tampa, FL 33602
https://www.tampaprayerbrunch.com/

Zephyrhills National Day of Prayer @ First Baptist Church

5/7/2020 | 6:00 PM - 7:30 PM

First Baptist Church

Zephyrhills, FL

Join us as we gather together in united prayer for our nation, state, county and community. Special speakers and music. Bring a friend.

Mary Ann Marino, NDP Coordinator
813-862-3360
rmifellowship@yahoo.com

38300 5th Avenue
Zephyrhills, FL 33541
Contact Host

National Day of Prayer - Ybor Experience 2020

5/7/2020 | 7:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Centennial Park - Ybor City

Tampa, FL

The National Day of Prayer Ybor will be an "experience" rather than a "service"! The only agenda is for our Heavenly Father to be exalted and made known! All are welcome to pray and worship our Heavenly Father in spirit and in truth. Don't forget to bring your own chairs, mats or blankets, and ready yourself to worship Him with reckless abandonment! Where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom! May God's Glory fill Ybor City and the entire Earth!

A Kingdom Move & Kingdom Embassy
813-748-4830
akingdommovement@gmail.com

1800 E. 8th Avenue
Tampa, FL 33605

National Festivities

Image result for national day of prayer logo

Greetings. On Sunday, March 15th, the National Day of Prayer Task Force will be hosting additional prayer calls throughout the day in response to President Trump’s call for a National Day of Prayer in response to the current coronavirus pandemic.

We know that many churches have suspended their services due to the increased concerns and vulnerability of the spreading of the virus in large gatherings. It is our hope that these prayer calls will provide opportunities for unified prayer as we turn to God for hope, health, and healing.

Please join us at the following times by calling 712-432-0075, Access code: 4961322#

10 am ET, 9 am CT, 8 am MT, 7 am PT

7 pm ET, 6 pm CT, 5 pm MT, 4 pm PT

10 pm ET, 9 pm CT, 8 pm MT, 7 pm PT

You are also invited to join National Day of Prayer in a sustaining presence of prayer every day on our prayer line 712-432-0075, 4961322#

Morning: 10 am ET, 9 am CT, 8 am MT, 7 am PT

Evening: 10 pm ET, 9 pm CT, 8 pm MT, 7 pm PT

In addition, the National Day of Prayer Task Force is lifting up this prayer together in these critical and concerning times. We hope you will join us in this prayer and share it with others as a prayer prompt or guide as we continue to pray.

The First Thursday of May

The National Day of Prayer is an annual observance held on the first Thursday of May, inviting people of all faiths to pray for the nation. It was created in 1952 by a joint resolution of the United States Congress and signed into law by President Harry S. Truman. Our Task Force is a privately funded organization whose purpose is to encourage participation on the National Day of Prayer. It exists to communicate with every individual the need for personal repentance and prayer, to create appropriate materials, and to mobilize the Christian community to intercede for America’s leaders and its families. The Task Force represents a Judeo-Christian expression of the national observance, based on our understanding that this country was birthed in prayer and in reverence for the God of the Bible.

Click here to see the history of the National Day of Prayer.

"Fasting and prayer are religious exercises; the enjoining them an act of discipline. Every religious society has a right to determine for itself the time for these exercises, and the objects proper for them, according to their own particular tenets; and right can never be safer than in their hands, where the Constitution has deposited it."

—Thomas Jefferson, 1808

First Call of Prayer in 1775

Because of the faith of many of our founding fathers, public prayer and national days of prayer have a long-standing and significant history in American tradition. The Supreme Court affirmed the right of state legislatures to open their sessions with prayer in Marsh vs. Chambers (1983).

The National Day of Prayer is a vital part of our heritage. Since the first call to prayer in 1775, when the Continental Congress asked the colonies to pray for wisdom in forming a nation, the call to prayer has continued through our history, including President Lincoln’s proclamation of a day of “humiliation, fasting, and prayer” in 1863. In 1952, a joint resolution by Congress, signed by President Truman, declared an annual national day of prayer. In 1988, the law was amended and signed by President Reagan, permanently setting the day as the first Thursday of every May. Each year, the president signs a proclamation, encouraging all Americans to pray on this day. Last year, all 50 state governors plus the governors of several U.S. territories signed similar proclamations.

Significance of the National Day of Prayer

The National Day of Prayer has great significance for us as a nation as it enables us to recall and to teach the way in which our founding fathers sought the wisdom of God when faced with critical decisions. It stands as a call for us to humbly come before God, seeking His guidance for our leaders and His grace upon us as a people. The unanimous passage of the bill establishing the National Day of Prayer as an annual event signifies that prayer is as important to our nation today as it was in the beginning.

Like Thanksgiving or Christmas, this day has become a national observance placed on all Hallmark calendars and observed annually across the nation and in Washington, D.C. Every year, local, state, and federal observances were held from sunrise in Maine to sunset in Hawaii, uniting Americans from all socio-economic, political and ethnic backgrounds in prayer for our nation. It is estimated that over two million people attended more than 30,000 observances – organized by approximately 40,000 volunteers. At state capitols, county courthouses, on the steps of city halls, and in schools, businesses, churches and homes, people stopped their activities and gathered for prayer.

The National Day of Prayer is Ours

The National Day of Prayer belongs to all Americans. It is a day that transcends differences, bringing together citizens from all backgrounds. Mrs. Shirley Dobson, NDP chairman emeritus, reminded us: “We have lost many of our freedoms in America because we have been asleep. I feel if we do not become involved and support the annual National Day of Prayer, we could end up forfeiting this freedom, too.”

Historical Summary

  • 1775 – The first Continental Congress called for a National Day of Prayer
  • 1863 – Abraham Lincoln called for such a day.
  • 1952 – Congress established NDP as an annual event by a joint resolution, signed into law by President Truman (82-324)
  • 1988 – The law was amended and signed by President Reagan, designating the NDP as the first Thursday in May (100-307).


sign up